The Miriam H. Labbok Award

Dr. Miriam Harriet Labbok
1949 – 2016

The Breastfeeding and Feminism International Conference is now accepting nominations for the Miriam H. Labbok Award for Excellence for 2018.

Miriam Labbok was the co-director of the Breastfeeding and Feminism International Conference from 2007-2016. She championed women’s rights to breastfeed around the world. She was at the seminal meeting in Innocenti, Italy that led to the Innocenti Declaration on the Protection, Promotion and Support of Breastfeeding. She was instrumental in defining and studying the Lactational Amenorrhea Method (LAM) of birth control for breastfeeding women, and championed causes across the reproductive health continuum from breastfeeding to birth spacing, research integrity to equity in access to care.

While Miriam advocated for evidence-based protection and promotion of breastfeeding, she particularly recognized the importance of providing material and structural support for breastfeeding mothers.  She was an avid supporter of collaborations between researchers and practitioners to advance evidence-based practice and meaningful, practice relevant, research. The goal of the Miriam H. Labbok Award is to honor emerging scholars and practitioners who are continuing this work and her legacy.

Nominee eligibility criteria:

  • Be early or mid-career in a relevant field of research, practice, policy, and/or advocacy
  • Demonstrate an emerging record of accomplishment that honors Miriam’s legacy

A letter of nomination is required for consideration. Self-nomination is acceptable. Additionally, the nominee must write a statement that indicates how their work advances support for breastfeeding mothers at the local, state, national or global level. If self-nominated, an additional letter of recommendation by someone familiar with the nominee’s work is required.

A selection committee will review applications and make a final decision. The recipient will be recognized during the annual Breastfeeding and Feminism International Conference and will have time on the agenda to share their work. We will provide the recipient with free conference registration and we will offer $1000 that can be use to cover transportation, as a honorarium, or we will make a  donation to a non-profit organization of choice.  The recipient is expected to attend the conference (March 20th-22nd, 2019).

Nominations must include the following:

  1. A current curriculum vitae
  2. A personal statement indicating how the nominee’s work advances support for breastfeeding mothers and future plans in this field
  3. A letter of endorsement

Please submit these three items as one PDF file sent via email to Please put “Miriam Labbok Award” in the subject line. The nomination is not considered complete unless all required information is received by the deadline. Applications for 2019 are due Friday, January 11th, 2019. Recipients will be notified by January 31st, 2019.

Miriam H. Labbok Award Criteria PDF

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes